Peter Thompson e-mails: Fake?

| | Comments (2)

NOTE: In my opinion, there is no reason to believe that this anything other than an attempt by some viral marketers to gather e-mail addresses and boost the rankings of their pages in search engines. I definitely think this has nothing to do with the official alternate reality game. But, you're free to see for yourself.

We've been getting reports for the past few days about secretly communicating through a Gmail address. Apparently, this communication is related to a certain Web site, supposedly having something to do with .

Visitors who go to www.paik-heavy.com/namaste.htm will find a strange sort of "help wanted" ad. If you follow the link you're taken to a sign-up form. After submitting your name and e-mail using the form, you'll get an e-mail from someone claiming to be Peter Thompson thanking you for your help and possibly giving additional instructions.

The additional instructions that I've seen, mention linking a certain web page on a public site. No doubt, this is an attempt to boost the rank of the page in search engines such as Google, which rank pages according to the number of other pages that link to them.

,

Mr. Fisk

This post was about . An alternate reality game based on the television show.

2 Comments

Wow that looks like Dan Patrick. Put the biscuit in the basket!

Hi Gary,

Did you mean to post that comment to the Valenzetti (Valens) article?

Namaste,

Mr. Fisk

Leave a comment